Transit Visa Requirements

The Minister of Home Affairs has exempted travellers transiting through the following international airports of South Africa from transit visas in terms of section 10B(4)(a) of the Immigration Act 2002:

  1. OR Tambo International
  2. Cape Town International
  3. King Shaka and
  4. Lanseria

Travellers transiting these airports will be subjected to biometric capturing.

Travellers using land ports of entry to transit through South Africa will have to apply for a port of entry visa.

Deportees transiting must be in possession of transit visas and at all times must be escorted failing which they will be returned to the airline that conveyed them for removal from the Republic.

Transit visa will now be required for Pakistani and Bangladesh passport holders as per ID No.11 of 2022.

Transit Visa requirements:

  1. Application form DHA-84. Application must be completed and signed in black ink only.
  2. A valid machine readable Passport/Travel Document valid for no less than (30) days after the expiry of the intended visit with three (3) completely blank pages.
  3. Two (2) passport size photos.
  4. Travel itinerary showing onward flight details.
  5. Proof of visa/permit/residency status for the destination country is required.
  6. An undertaking provided by the Government of the host country confirming they will remain responsible for the deportee(s) and receive deportee in their country of origin should it become necessary. Supporting documentation pertaining to escorts to be provided.
  7. Transit Visa fee (where applicable). Fees payable are dependent on the nationality of passport held. Where fees are payable, the current fee is 47.00 AUD (non-refundable). Check here to see if you must pay the visa fee: Visa Countries.

Payment must be in Australian Dollars (AUD) made out to the "South African High Commission" by way of Postal Money Order or Bank Cheque.

Personal cheques or credit cards are NOT accepted. Incorrect payment will not be accepted; in case of incorrect payment the cheque or postal money order will be returned to applicant.

Submission of applications:

According to the new Regulations an application for any visa referred to in section 11 up to and including sections 20 and 22 of the Act must submit his or her application in person to the:

South African High Commission
State Circle
Phone: (02) 6272 7300
Web Address:

Return Postage:

Please bring a self-addressed registered or express post envelope along with the application.

Processing time is ten (10) working days from receipt of application if application is complete.

For further information, please contact this Mission between 08:30 am and 12:00 pm Australian Eastern Standard Time (AEST), Monday to Friday.

« back

South African Flag